Every notary either seeking to become a notary public, or renewing the notary commission must submit to a federal and state level background check via live scan. Live scan is a process by which fingerprints are taken electronically and submitted electronically within a period of 24 hours to the FBI and DOJ. Many notaries are not aware that the reason these need to be done every four years with notary renewal is because fingerprints are not "saved" anywhere. Live scanned fingerprints on file by criminals. If there are no matches, the background check via live scan is complete.
Live Scan fingerprinting is ALWAYS offered at notary classes offered by Develop Point Education.
Most Common Questions
What makes you different than other Notary Education Companies?
We believe in education and are interested in notaries performing their duties with confidence, minimal liability and of course passing the California State Notary Exam the first time.
We want you to pass the notary public exam the first time and KNOW your responsibilities as a Notary Public with confidence! When you sign up for our notary class, you are given a link on your purchase receipt to all the study/class materials you will need. The same day that you purchase your class, you will actually be able to see what we will cover in class, receive your notary application and the application mandatory live scan for the day of your notary class. Simply print out the workbook and go through it. Bring it with you to class so the instructor can sign off that you completed it. When purchase package 2 or higher on the order page and you pass with 100% we will BUY YOUR SUPPLIES for you! (CD, journal, stamp and thumbprint pad) within 30 DAYS!NO ONE OFFERS OR GUARANTEES LIKE US! Because we know what you need!
YOU WILL BE REWARDED FOR REFERRING YOUR NOTARY FRIENDS. We know you will enjoy our notary class and interactive instructors. We know you will want to refer us to your notary friends as well. In fact, when you refer your notary friends to take our notary public class we will reward you with a $25.00 gift certificate to be used for any service or supplies at Develop Point Education, (Good for 1 year).
How long will it take to receive or renew my commission?
New State law notary application requirements, California notary exam scheduling limitations and forced budget cuts have resulted in the notary renewal process taking AT LEAST THREE MONTHS to complete. Avoid a lapse in your notary renewal and reserve your notary class and California notary exam today!
(Due to our rule of no more than 20 per class, we fill up fast!)
Let us guide you through the process with our "One Time, One Place...Done" process to become a notary public or renew your current notary public commission.
1. Get an $85.00 notary class and Complete the State Proctored Exam.
Our training and preparation will teach you what you need to know in order to pass the notary exam given at the end of our Notary Classes.
2. Fulfill the application requirements.
We will arrange for live scan fingerprinting and notary application photos all at the California notary public class you choose.
3. Get your State required notary supplies and plan to be successful
Through our convenient class packages, you will obtain your notary supplies, including your $15,000 4-year bond, official bond, E&O Insurance, notary seal, stamp, and journal, to perform your notarial duties and protect yourself from liability, All In One Day! If you have any questions regarding your commission renewal,
We are ready to assist you TOLL-FREE at
1-855-PRO NOTARY (855) 776-6682
What happens if I register for a live 6-hour or 3-hour online Notary Public Course?
A confirmation of registration will be emailed to you within 24 hours after we receive your registration. If you have not received your confirmation within 24 hours please call Customer Service.
In your receipt of registration you will receive a link to print the pre-class study material, notary application with instructions, and notary applications with instructions, it's that easy!
What else do I need to know?
STATE MANDATED REQUIREMENTS
All attendees must qualify by presenting a valid government-issued ID. "Valid" means current or issued within the past five years and contains a photograph, physical description, signature and serial number at the time of sign in.
Attendees must attend the full six-hour course in its entirely to receive Proof of Completion. Any attendees that need to leave the room of instruction for any reason needs to sign in and out on the log sheet at the registration table to keep an accurate record of time spent away from the notary public class.
Any attendee that spends more than ten, (10) minutes away from the notary public class, (not including scheduled breaks), will not receive Proof of Completion Certificate under any circumstances and must re-take the course.
Can I get a refund if I wish to cancel my notary class?
Absolutely! Like all companies and other notary schools, Develop Point Education does have policies in place for class or notary exam reschedule, cancellation, refunds, and certain fees. Due to our very small class size and limited tests, it is very important that you attend your scheduled class. Please read and follow these policies in the event of any changes to your planned class or test date.
Please send a WRITTEN NOTICE by one of the following methods to cancel or reschedule your notary class or test: By FAX to (855) 776-6682 or By EMAIL to customerservice@DevelopPointEd.com
Cancellations received 7 days prior to the initially scheduled class date will receive a FULL REFUND. Refunds WILL NOT be applied to cancellations received after this date as well as cancellations made on subsequently transferred registrations AFTER the FIRST transfer. Written transfer requests received by 12 PM Pacific time 3 days prior to the initially scheduled class date will be processed at no charge. Program transfer requests received after this time will be charged a $50.00 fee.
Home study courses, online course, or no-shows DO NOT QUALIFY for any refund. Cancellations and class reschedules received on the day of the scheduled class WILL NOT BE entitled to a refund of any portion.
There is a $25.00 charge for any payment returned for non-sufficient funds. All credit card cancellations are subject to a 25% service charge.
Refunds or exchanges on products received except a notary public seal may be given upon request to any of the business addresses mentioned above if an item is unused, decide against or damaged within 30 days of the purchase date. There are no refunds, exchange or transfers after 6 months from original purchase or class rescheduling.
If you purchased your class through CourseHorse, then our Refund & Cancellation policy applies to your purchase. If you are entitled to a refund, or have any questions, please visit the https://coursehorse.com site and contact their customer service team.
Simply print out the materials we send to you in your email receipt at registration. We will provide everything else including your pencils, highlighter, and Secretary of State handbook!
Click above to sign up for an online course and a live review in a city near you Today!
Beginning at $25.00!
To become a notary public in the state of California you must meet certain qualifications and state requirements. Though it is not very difficult, it is a little time consuming which is why we make it easy with our "One Day, One Place...Done" program. Unlike many notary education companies, we provide a way for you to meet the following notary requirements and qualifications in one day and for a price that is extremely reasonable especially in these economic times.
Notary Public Classes Beginning at $25.00!
Click above to sign up for a notary public class in a city near you Today!
Beginning at $25.00!
The minimum age requirement for a notary public in California is 18 years old. There is no maximum age limit.
To become a notary public and to renew your notary public commission, you will need to take a notary education course certified by the Secretary of State. The law has been placed since January 2005. For a new notary public, the education requirement is a 6-hour class. If a commissioned notary public has taken the 6-hour class already and is within 30 days of the commission expiring, they are able to take a refresher course. Once the notary class is finished a certificate of course completion is given and the class attendee gives it as proof that they have taken and successfully passed the education class.
1464 East Los Angeles Avenue #4
Simi Valley, CA 93065
1 (855) 776 - 6682
Develop Point Education
Whether you wish to become a notary public or seeking notary renewal, another notary requirement of the Secretary of State is a notary exam to be passed with a score 70% or higher. The notary exam is timed for 50 minutes and contain 30 multiple choice questions.
At the notary public exam you will need a completed application form, 2x2 passport photo, proof of completion of either an approved 3-hour or 6-hour education course and $40.00 check made out to the Secretary of State.
Once the notary public commission packet has been received, the next step would be to purchase the notary public supplies. In the notary public packet sent by the Secretary of State, you will use the provided certificate of authorization to order your notary seal. To become a California notary public or if you are seeking a notary public commission renewal in California, it is a notary requirement to have the following:
1. 4 year $15,000 notary public bond
2. Notary public seal
3. Notary public journal
Oath and Bond
The last step in becoming a notary public or re-commissioning as a California notary public is to go to your local county clerk in the county where yo do, (or will do), business as notary public to file an oath and $15,000 bond.
Once you have taken the notary education class, passed the notary public exam, and have had your live scan fingerprints submitted, the Secretary of State will approve or re-approve your notary public commission. At that point you will receive in the mail via USPS an envelop from the Secretary of State containing a welcome letter, notary certificate, certificate of authorization to get your seal vendor and paper to take to the county clerk within 30 days which they will file along with your oath and bond...
The point in which your oath and bond are filed is when you may perform duties as a notary public and may begin to transact business.
To see our notary packages including notary supplies and state requirements
Purchase your notary bond, notary seal, notary journal, E&O Insurance. Purchase them at huge savings directly from our source or enjoy the same savings by purchasing them in a package by choosing your city/class and save even more money!